After The Fire

Philippians 4:11 (amp) Not that I am implying that I was in any personal want, for I have learned how to be content (satisfied to the point where I am not disturbed or disquieted) in whatever state I am.

After the war it is easy to be at peace and contented… but this is where God wants us to “remain”… during the war. Within every crisis there is a secret place in God… wherewith we can be totally at peace and contented…. we must find that place in the midst of the fire. I have come to understand that having nothing and yet knowing I possess all things through and in Christ is the key. God wants us to learn to stand up and say… “I Know” in Whom I have believed and that “HE” is able. Walking through the middle of an onslaught of satan, yet…. Having a deep solid trust…in knowing that the King of all Kings is still on the throne. A song comes to mind… (“He lives” see the lyrics below.) I serve a RISEN Savior….. Jesus is His Name…. If you don’t have this peace, this contentment and assurance in the midst of the storm…maybe, just maybe… He (Jesus) is the answer. Ask Him to come into your heart and to forgive “ALL” your sin…. Jesus is faithful and loving and wants you as His own. Sharon Middleton

On Philippians 4:11….(From Believer’s Bible Commentary) In handling the whole subject of finances, it is lovely to see the delicacy and courtesy which Paul employs. He does not want them to think that he is complaining about any shortage of funds. Rather, he would have them know that he is quite independent of such mundane circumstances. He had learned … to be content, no matter what his financial condition might be. Contentment is really greater than riches, for “if contentment does not produce riches, it achieves the same object by banishing the desire for them.”
“It is a blessed secret when the believer learns how to carry a high head with an empty stomach, an upright look with an empty pocket, a happy heart with an unpaid salary, joy in God when men are faithless” (Selected).

Alfred Ackley wrote the lyrics to He Lives!

I serve a risen Savior, He’s in the world today;
I know that He is living whatever men may say;
I see His hand of mercy, I hear His voice of cheer,
And just the time I need Him, He’s always near.

Refrain:
He lives, He lives,
Christ Jesus lives today!
He walks with me and talks with me
Along life’s narrow way.
He lives, He lives,
Salvation to impart!
You ask me how I know He lives?
He lives within my heart.

In all the world around me I see His loving care,
And tho’ my heart grows weary I never will despair;
I know that He is leading thro’ all the stormy blast,
The day of His appearing will come at last.

Leave a Reply

