Feeling Presidential

Feeling Presidential

I hear this sometimes said of the Presidents elected to serve our wonderful nation.  Just thinking out loud…  what exactly does that mean? I’m feeling presidential or he does or does not look presidential?!  As in someone saying, “I’m feeling secretarial, or I’m feeling electritional…..  I could go on and on.

I can picture the President sitting in the oval office, he see’s his reflection in a mirror and thinks, “Wow, I look really good today”, or, “lookin’ good, Barack“.  But as he gazes at his reflection in the mirror, does he ever think, ” sportin’ a great presidential look today, Obama”.

It has been said that in the third presidential debate, Romney had a much more presidential look than Obama, during the debate on military spending. Angered by Romney’s words, the President accused Romney of not knowing how the military works.  In this attack on Romney, the President came across as very unpresidential, becoming rude, smirking, yet squirmimg, looking uncomfortable and caught off guard.  This is not what I want to see in a President, and does not give me confidence that he can rise to the occasion. Governor Romney, on the other hand, rose to the occasion of this debate, looking very Presidential.  He was not swayed one bit by Obama’s smirks or his rude and misleading comments.  What I saw, as I watched the debate, was a strong, intelligent man, with his jaw line set, his eyes looking directly at the setting President, and looking more Presidential, and more like what I now wish we had in a president. Of course, this is all hindsight, since, Obama won the electorial vote and the Presidencial race.

So my descriptive opinion of what  “Looking Presidential” should look like, is…..

The expression on his face the day President George W. Bush was told that the Trade center had been attacked.

The day President Ronald Reagan declared, “Mr. Gorbachev, Tear down that wall”.

I understand that this not my usual ramblings based on Gods Word.  But needed to be said anyway, with all the finger pointing at former President, George W. Bush.  I beleive that he came to the Presidency for such a time as this.  He had a mandate on his life, a God given directive.  And that was accomplished.

BTW:  Do you know my Savior?  Jesus is His name.  That name that’s above all names.

Sharon D. Middleton.

Leave a Reply

