Will The Real Me Please Stand Up

Will The Real Me Please Stand Up

Have you ever had a time in your life that you ask yourself, “Just who am I really? Will the real me please stand up?” I recently had one of those days. I looked in the mirror and thought, “Who am I really”? I don’t even know who I am or where I’m going. People may ask, who are you? I answer, Sharon Middleton. They say, but who “are” you? Who is the “REAL” you? What do you answer to this question? Who am I really? The correct answer is NOT… I’m a girlfriend, wife, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, female, Christian. I’m kind, generous, non-conformist, the list can go on and on. But these descriptive words are “what” you are, not who you are? And for the most part, what you are to others. That’s who I am to others, but who am I to me?? So who is the real me? We’ve all heard people say, “Oh, she’s just trying to find herself”. How in the world do we find ourselves?

 

Read a statement below on this subject:

Ideal Self: The personality is composed of the Real Self and the Ideal Self. Your Real Self is who you actually are, while your Ideal Self is the person you want to be.

The Ideal Self is an idealized version of yourself created out of what you have learned from your life experiences, the demands of society, and what you admire in your role models.

For example, your parents are medical doctors who are respected and admired in the community, and experience tells you that in order to be happy, you need to be smart and have a high-paying job. Your Ideal Self might be someone who excels in science subjects, spends a lot of time studying, and does not get queasy at the sight of blood. If your Real Self is far from this idealized image, then you might feel dissatisfied with your life and consider yourself a failure.
Psychologist Carl Rogers

Have we truly lost sight of who we are? When I looked in the mirror this morning, I tried to really look into my heart. I stood there thinking about the things I’ve accomplished in my life, and the things left to do. Why do I want to do these things? What has made them important to me, even vital to me? Who am I, that my husband loves me and has stayed married to me for 47 years?

These are questions that today go unanswered in my mind. I have reached a place where I do not know who I am. These thoughts come to mind…. I am wife to my Sweet William, I am mom to Tommy & Kim, I am Mimi to 10 grandkids. Is that what defines me? Is that the gist of who I am… in my own heart? Wife, Mom, Mimi?!? I’m an author and a writer. I’m a child of God. I am a 63-year-old woman who loves deeply those in my world. I am a stubborn and strong-willed person who desires to accomplish much for the Kingdom of God. But that still is not the real me. Will the real Sharon please stand up. Yet, here I sit, contemplating, who really is this person I see in the mirror and how will I know when she really shows up? Will the real me please stand up!

 

One thought on “Will The Real Me Please Stand Up

  1. Debbie Braudrick says:

    I think that we, as humans, are very complex creatures. I can visualize our inner self as a labrynth of locked rooms. Rooms, which the contents are hidden, even to us. I believe that even we ourselves aren’t aware of the hurts… sadness….abuse…..broken hearts……rejections, that we have unconsciously locked away and forgotten about. Then I visualize the One who holds the key to those locked doors. The only One who has access. I can see Him walking through that long labrynth of rooms..one by one, kicking open the doors and filling those dark places with His light! Dispelling all of those things that have taken residence, and held us captive, without our permission or knowlege. This is how I believe we will truly learn who we are….what we are here for…and what He plans for us. I want Him to have full access to every one of those places in me…..I know they are there….Only One has the key. He is the slayer of our dragons……Thank you, Sharon..for the purity and honesty of your writings. You are a strong couragious warrior!

Leave a Reply

