Passion~

PASSION~

Passion is an intense emotion or very strong feeling about a person or thing; It is a highly persuasive feeling that could be constructive or destructive in a person’s life. Passion can bring feelings of unspeakable joy or feelings of intense pain.

When I hear the word passion, I envision the color red or purple.  Never really understood why?  Actually, I don’t think I’ve ever given it much consideration.

One of the things that I love is working on is my family history(genealogy).  I remember talking with one of my nephews at a family get together.  We were discussing my work on our families genealogy.  He suggested that I was passionate about it, and then he said, I wish I had something I was passionate about. I remember thinking, gosh, you are so very talented and highly intelligent, you have so many things to be passionate about.  He has a wonderful talent to play the guitar, in fact, he plays in a band.  That conversation comes back to me so often.

As a Christian, I have a great passion about my faith.  I can honestly say that my faith and belief in my Savior, is the one sustaining thing in my life.  I have been able to stay passionate about Him.  I have had many hobbies and activities in my life.  I would have a very strong excitement for them, but sooner or later, they would fade out of my life or take a back seat to other newer things.

The word “PASSION” is found in the bible only once, in Acts 1:3.  This verse refers to the Passion of the Christ. And is talking about the emotions of love and pain He suffered before on the cross.  That is what true passion is.  Jesus was able to suffer such horrendous pain, mentally, emotionally and physically.  He could endure such torturous pain because of His intense love for us.  Thus, Passion!  His passion held deep in his heart, such a love for His Heavenly Father and for us, but at the same time, he felt and suffered such pain that His heart literally burst inside His chest.  That passion He held and still holds for us, should cause such passion within us, that we serve Him with every breath we take.

As the song goes….

Once I was straying in sin’s dark valley, No hope within could I see, I searched Thru heaven and found a Savior, To save a poor lost soul like me

Chorus

Oh what a Savior! Oh Hallelujah His heart was broken on Calvary, HIs hands we nail scarred: His side was driven, He gave his life blood for you and me

Definition: 1. A powerful emotion, such as love, joy, hatred, or anger. 2. a. Ardent love. b. Strong sexual desire; lust. c. The object of such love or desire. To experience a sensation or impression(usually painful): feel, passion, suffer, vex.

2 thoughts on “Passion~

  1. Debbie Braudrick says:

    Sharon….I think that word…”PASSION” is one of my favorite words in the english language. The definition of that word truly can be found in perfection….in the personality of God. But also in His spirit that He imparts to those who love Him. I see that passion in you……in your writings….in your conversation…….What an honor! You are doing a work that will change lives, and show that God is God in His might and strength….But He is also God as He sits beside you and guides your pen…(or keyboard). I am so anxious and blessed to watch where this will go, and to watch the lives change as they read your words about the sweetness…..patience……love and mercy of our God. Thank you Sharon!!

Leave a Reply

